Renault Captur Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a keen amateur photographer, I was out on the Sussex Downs this evening getting some sunset shots. On returning to the car, I took a quick snap, but am very pleased how it turned out.

It's a Dynamique S

Edited by: tx2online

·
Registered
924 Posts
I like the way the eye is trained from the top third left down to the right, and the road leading off into the distance. Linking the car with its environment. There is a circular feel to the image with the clouds returning the eye to the subject.
The wet surroundings and especially the puddle of water (with the reflection)bindsthe ruggedcrossover feel to the subject. I think the horizon cutting almost, but not quite through the centre of the image weakens the overall strength of the view. As does the horizon cutting into the roof of the car. A lower view point would have strengthened the impact by raising the horizon, as well as foreshortening the foreground. To finish, a little lightening of the subject would be useful.

Edited by: crossbow

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It was only a quick snap! My feet were soaking wet from the dew on the grass, and I just wanted to get home. But yes, thanks for the critique - I will, at some point when the light is good, take some better shots of the car.

·
Registered
924 Posts
Its funny how wet feet saps the concentration.

Photography is not all models and warm studios. More often than not it is long walks, with heavy kit. Followed by long waits, patience and a little luck. HUMM, sounds like fishing to me.

Sometimes its the last shot of the session that is the most pleasing. Maybe its the thought of finishing. Photography is all about expressing the context. That is,conveying what the image does not show, but suggests. That's the challengeto the photographer.

Edited by: crossbow

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #6