Renault Captur Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I collected my captur on Saturday morning and I am delighted with it so far. I went for the black and pearl roof. The model is 0.9 TCE 90 Dynamique S MediaNav. The car is much nippier under acceleration than my previous car, a 1.6 Megane. So far it is a delight to drive. There have been a few occasion when I have sensed a very slight drag or hesitancy when accelerating. Has anyone else experienced this? Maybe I just need to get used to the turbo?

·
Registered
317 Posts
Hi Jim, I have the 1.5 diesel and haven't encountered your problem. I am far from an expert but two possible causes could be you are .driving in economy mode or you have changed up gear too quickly. I have noticed the gear ratios on the Captur (especially the diesel) are further apart from previous cars I have had.

Edited by: iang

·
Registered
260 Posts
It'll definitely (well hopefully!) be the turbo spooling up causing a bit of lag. When I went for my test drive in the tce I found if I changed up just slightly earlier than I would instinctively in a non turbo car it kept the revs in the powerband and there was no drop in 'oomph'. Like ian said the diesels a very different animal with all the power available at low revs and more spaced gears. Maybe give it a try and see if it makes a difference. Edited by: Cj86

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for that, I will try that for a few days, before I head back to the garage. Hopefully I will get used to it and that will solve the problem. Thanks again.

·
Registered
260 Posts
No worries, hopefully that is the problem! It sounds it, on my test drive I took a corner in a high gear like I do in the larger non turbo car I drive at the moment, and the torque literally went on holiday until I changed down. Edited by: Cj86

·
Registered
924 Posts