Renault Captur Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! I'm new here, have been the owner of a Captur 1.5 dci dynamique 2015 for a while and recently I've been looking into replacing the old stereo with a brand new Alpine ilx-702D. Watched a lot of reviews and video and I made up my mind this is the one I want to go for, but there's only one issue: I have never done it before and I believe I lack of crucial info & experience here. Along with this stereo, do I need:

• a harness main adaptor?
  • a AM/FM cable? (I don't care about DAB but at least AM/FM has to be present in the radio..)
  • a steering wheel control adapter? (I assume yes)
  • a faceplate? (I assume yes)
  • something else I can't think of?
Also, last but not least, lacking of major skill do you think this replacement is something I can do by myself? If you have done it, could you please share your experience?

Thank you in advance!

·
Registered
303 Posts
Hi the opening of the Captur radio and the back area shape makes it difficult to put another make replacement unit in and as you said you would need adapters plugs as well. In my opinion you would find it easier to put a Chinese bespoke unit in that would fit without too much trouble. I have fitted a Octo core P5 running pie android like this model :-https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/8-Core-Android-9-0-Car-GPS-Stereo-Navi-WIFI-SWC-For-Renault-Dacia-Duster-Sandero/233372518303?hash=item365616079f:g:pDMAAOSwJcNdqWeu

·
Super Moderator
2,415 Posts
Have you done this kind of stuff before and do you have a general idea of what is involved?
If so, you should be OK....